Dial 911 for Emergency


The Dover Police Department Patrol Unit consists of four platoons with 12 officers assigned to each platoon.  Often called the “backbone of the police department”, the Patrol Unit provides 24 hours of police services to the community everyday of the year. Patrol officers protect and serve the citizens of the City of Dover.  They are the first responders to motor vehicle accidents, medical emergencies, criminal complaints and calls for assistance.  Each Patrol Platoon is supervised by a Sergeant “Platoon Leader” assisted by two Section Leaders usually holding the rank of Master Corporal.  Section Leaders serve as “street supervisors” who are assigned patrol duties.  To provide the best service to the public a typical platoon consists of officers with the following specialized training:

Accident Reconstruction
Special Operations Response Team Officers
Crisis Negotiators
Shift Investigators
Field Training Officers